Leprechaun 4: In Space (1996)

Leprechaun 4 CoverStarring: Warwick Davis, Brent Jasmer, Debbe Dunning, Jessica Collins, Rebekah Carlton, Guy Siner

Directed by Brian Trenchard-Smith

Format: DVD

Tagline: “One Small Step For Man…One Giant Leap for Terror.”

“On a planet in a distant galaxy, a power-hungry Leprechaun holds a beautiful alien princess hostage in order to marry her for her royal title. When a platoon of marines from Earth foils his scheme, the Leprechaun wreaks havoc to reclaim his bride.”

My Story:

I used to, and still somewhat do, have a problem with trying to collect all the movies of a franchise. Honestly, Leprechaun isn’t even a series I really want to own. But Lionsgate makes it so damn easy when they release their Leprechaun Triple Features! Snagged this set of three back in Halloween of 2010. I had the first three from earlier on, and I think my friends and I watched one through three all in one night. Then they were no longer my friends, and now I must start Part 4 by myself. This is probably the Leprechaun film I’m most excited about. Let’s see how space treats him.

My Thoughts:

  • The 90s were full of movies talking about bad breath.
  • I like to think that this could’ve been a cool crossover with Star Trek Voyager.”
  • “Semper Fi, do or die, KILL KILL KILL.”
  • This Dr. Evil sounding motherfucker right here, commanding a space vessel. Where’s his cat?
  • Super rough special effects for the spaceship.
  • Spaceship turbulence makes people fall in love instantly.
  • I wish the Leprechaun talked in rhymes in this movie, though. I miss that.
  • Purple lightning is not as intimidating as you’d think.
  • DINNER ROLLS IN YOUR FACE.
  • How is this beautiful alien princess falling for Leprechaun’s magical appearing/disappearing jewels. She’s a rich princess already.
  • “The King is dead. Long live the King.” In context, I understand this line. But out of context, what the hell?
  • This marine is falling for the table full of valuables too! Dude, you’re on an alien planet and there’s just a table full of jewels. You’re an idiot, and Leprechaun just killed you with a lightsaber. You deserved it.Leprechaun-4-In-Space-Warwick-Davis
  • By what just happened on the screen, and this is just a hunch, but I think Leprechaun will possess a shipmate through the shipmate’s urine.
  • THERE’S A DISCO BALL IN SPACE.
  • Just saw Leprechaun being held by a cable as he flew around the ship. Movie magic.
  • White guys dancing is SO FUNNY.
  • Wait, why is there a room full of flesh eating bacteria on a spaceship?
  • Wait, why am I asking these questions. It’s a movie about a Leprechaun in space. I gotta take a step back.
  • I can honestly say, though, that I don’t like the pretty generic dialogue. Like the idea of calling the scientist a “pencil-neck geek.” Shouldn’t there be a more futuristic word for that?
  • The practical effects looks as if they’re made of Play-Doh.
  • It’s kinda shitty that Leprechaun basically acts as the narrator of the film, too.
  • This dude is having a conversation, waving his flashlight around like he didn’t already shine the light over every open space in front of him.
  • Also, no wonder these marines are in space and not on Earth. They are by far the worst shooters I’ve ever seen. They cannot shoot Leprechaun for the life of them.
  • “You’re really good with that rifle.” Um, no, he’s not. Are you blind, Tina?
  • Monsters cutting off their own fingers never did anything for me. Not Freddy, and certainly not Leprechaun.
  • I don’t know, an insert shot of Leprechaun licking his lips seems unnecessary.
  • Also, if Leprechaun is telekinetic, why isn’t he just reclaiming the princess and going on his merry way? Another dumb question, I’m sorry.
  • Best kill: pencil-neck geek’s.
  • Like, you can’t just put DNA in a blender. What does that even mean?
  • I actually really don’t want this alien princess to live.
  • Mittenspider. That is all.
  • I’m so tired of gun fights WHERE NO ONE GETS SHOT. THIS IS INSANE.
  • Dude finally gets shot, takes off his bulletproof vest to get to his t-shirt, takes off his shirt to wrap around his wound. What?
  • Mittenspider just ate Tina’s pants. One of the greatest casualties of the film.
  • So how does Leprechaun get to tha hood after this movie?

The Verdict:

I had to watch this movie over the course of two nights. Last night, I was not happy watching it, but I think it was partially because I was so critical. Taking a step back and trying to appreciate the movie for the fun, playful, direct-to-video sequel it’s supposed to be helped me finish it today. But I didn’t think it was any better of a film. For a “fun” film, it was pretty generic. I know that seems weird to say, but it was predictable, Leprechaun’s zingers were so matter-of-fact that it’s hard to call them zingers, and everything space related was such a parody of itself that it wasn’t even amusing. But I’m reviewing it now without really knowing what was funny and entertaining in’96. I just have a hunch it wasn’t a movie like this.

Leave a Reply

