Bug (1975)

BugStarring: Bradford Dillman, Joanna Miles, Jamie Smith Jackson

Directed by Jeannot Szwarc

Format: DVD

Tagline: “Fiery, Hungry and Unstoppable, Pray They Don’t Invade Your House!”

“Legendary horror writer-producer-director William Castle presents a creeping, crawling film nightmare that will have you screaming and squirming with fright! A massive Earth tremor opens a deep crevasse in the California desert, releasing a bizarre, fiery, deadly breed of foot-long cockroaches. With their numbers multiplying and the death toll mounting, obsessive entomologist Bradford Dillman desperately seeks a way to eliminate the seemingly indestructible critters before they spread clear across the country…and beyond!”

My Story: 

I don’t even know, guys. I don’t know. I think part of me was like, “It’s not Friedkin’s Bug, but whatever!” I don’t know anything about it besides the fact that it (probably) has bugs in it.

My Thoughts:

  • Initial thoughts: I hate bugs. This oughta be fun.
  • Not gonna knock it for its PG-rating. The MPAA was a whole lot different back then.
  • William Castle had his hands all up in this. I can dig it.
  • This is the prequel to Joe’s Apartment, right?
  • Churches without air conditioning: horrible.
  • Guys, of course your church is gonna cave in due to bugs when it’s made out of straight plywood.
  • I don’t know how that woman expected the phone to work after the church almost collapsed.
  • Those little buggers (HA!) made a car explode. Looks like we’re dealing with some serious roaches.
  • The bugs’ first plan of attack is to obviously destroy all the cars. Good move.
  • But seriously, fuck loud bugs.
  • Okay, this bug is BURNING A HOLE IN THIS CAT’S SKULL AND SETTING BUSHES ON FIRE.Bug 1975
  • This squirrel crawled on a professor’s shoulder and all the girls in the classroom swoon. Dudes WISH it was that easy.
  • “I think we’ve got ourselves a six-legged boy scout here.” I’m not sure that’s what that is, sir.
  • Whoever thought of this bug creature really hit the nail on the head. A blind cockroach that starts fires.
  • The cockroaches are burning up the professor’s car, so he closes the garage door for NO ventilation. I know this is a stressful time, sir, but have some common sense.
  • The soundtrack to this film was just someone fucking around on a keyboard.
  • “Woman always needs extra dishes.” OH, GOOD ONE.
  • Whoa, weird exploding bug close up.
  • I’m sorry lady, you were out going for a walk? What are you stupid?
  • The weird thing about this movie is that these characters aren’t introduced well, and I have no idea what anybody’s name is. Hence “sir” and “lady” and probably “dumb idiot.”
  • The stunt double for this woman who’s on fire looked very much like a man.
  • I don’t know, we’re an hour into the movie and they are still “studying” the bugs, not attempting to exterminate them.
  • Eerie music when these bugs are just chilling. Again, I hate bugs, but they aren’t making this very scary. Except for the whole idea that these bugs can set fire.
  • There wasn’t really a climax except for maybe, MAYBE, that woman being on fire.
  • YOU’RE WORKING WITH BUGS THAT START FIRE, WEAR A DAMN HAZMAT SUIT.
  • Smart move, professor. Turn the bugs on themselves and….cry? Why are you crying? Why is he crying? Guys?
  • For a scientist, this guy takes zero precaution. C’mon, man.
  • Action shot of a bug jumping through glass. Awesome.
  • Aw hell, the ground is glowing red.

The Verdict:

Well, it was certainly a movie. I’ve been only so neutral about a few movies, and this is one of them. I mean, the idea is there. The storyline isn’t. But some of the action is there. But some of the character development isn’t. It seemed sort of half-assed. But, you know, sometimes it’s alright. I didn’t go in with huge expectations and I’m certainly not disappointed because of it. I think this opened the doors for Szwarc’s Jaws II though, which I know we’re all thankful for. I think.

Leave a Reply

