New Feature: Fresh Eyes

Hey there everyone,

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything for The Leftovers. Life’s been crazy. I graduated from Syracuse, I got married, I moved to California and finished my documentary Fantasm. Needless to say, I haven’t been visiting the forgotten gems of my movie collection recently. Or if I have, I’ve been too busy to write about them for this blog. I’ve continued my writing for The Miscreant zine, where there have been Leftovers posts included in various issues. I’ve also started writing for iHorror.com, which has been a blast.

Thinking a lot about horror, as I do, has sparked a bit of inspiration to return to this blog where I wrote a lot of my first…anything. Horror has this sort of “street cred” thing going on sometimes where you can not be a good horror fan if you haven’t seen this movie, or if you like so-and-so, etc. I really hate that. I don’t like being called out because I haven’t seen all of Child’s Play 2. By being a part of a community where most of the fans had their initial horror experiences before I was even born has made me feel like an outsider at times. And to be an outsider to something you love with a deep passion, sucks. It just sucks.

Recently though, I’ve come to terms and learned to embrace this “outsider” status. Which, in all honesty, is not an outsider status so much as it is not a widely recognized point-of-view. And I’m ready to admit more widely that I HAVEN’T SEEN A LOT OF “CLASSIC” HORROR MOVIES. I’m working to remedy this NOT to be more accepted by the horror community because, despite its occasional cockeyed look at my POV, the community will ALWAYS accept me and others. But I want to learn more about horror, the history of its fandom and why we consider this films staples of the genre.

So, I will include a new column on The Leftovers called FRESH EYES where I take a look at these notable horror titles with a clear perspective with little expectations besides the knowledge that the horror community embraces them. Some titles I plan to cover include Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter, Gremlins, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Halloween II, and a bunch more.

Stay tuned,

Kyle

Fresh Eyes

Leave a Reply

